Thought incorrectly by many to be an evolution of Sean Dowdell and His Friends; the inclusion of Chester Bennington in Grey Daze was actually a product of absolute coincidence. Having previously been in a band called Sean Dowdell and His Friends (which included Chester on lead vocals); Sean Dowdell set out to create a new band that would later come to be known as Grey Daze. Reportedly, after the split of Sean Dowdell & His Friends?, Jonathan Krause [former bassist of Grey Daze] met Sean Dowdell's brother at his work and heard that Sean had broken up with his band, Jonathan had also broken up with his band earlier that year. Both in need of a new band, they got together and began to form the original lineup of Grey Daze. After a long search, Sean Dowdell suggested that his old singer, Chester Bennington audition for the part. Chester [in need of a band himself] auditioned for the lead vocalist spot, and became the final piece of the puzzle.

Featuring 12 tracks (including a hidden acappella performance of "Morei Sky"); and released in 1994, 'Wake Me' is the first CD the band released under their own label Grey Daze Publishing. The cover features Chester's former wife Samantha, and many of the songs found on this release are early versions of songs that would later wind up on the band's final release "...No Sun Today".

*This is the only Grey Daze release to feature Jason Barnes on guitar as he left shortly after the release of this album. Jonathan Krause, who was one of two pre-cursors to Mace Beyers, played with the band for only two years before leaving to pursue other endeavors.

Wake Me
01. What's In The Eye? Lyrics
02. Spin Lyrics
03. Morei Sky Lyrics
04. Wake Me Lyrics
05. Starting to Fly Lyrics
06. Sometimes Lyrics
07. Holding You Lyrics
08. Hole Lyrics
09. Believe Me Lyrics
10. Here, Nearby Lyrics
11. She Shines Lyrics
12. Shouting Out Lyrics
Single Lyrics Tabs Video