Buying a New computer

Discussion in 'The Living Room' started by androidkaita, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. #21
    [LP]Ori*[LP]

    [LP]Ori*[LP] Guest




    I own an Intel. It's very cool but they are too expensive..
    Now Sonic has been working on a new computer which will be out in summer '07.

    Specialists say this new Sonic computer is gonna be the biggest machine technology and its going to be probably around the $6,000s..:blink:
     
  2. #22
    Canadian Joe

    Canadian Joe Bacon strips LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    0



    You can always build something better ;)

    ...and is that intel the Core, or something older (like a P4 or celeron)?
     
  3. #23
    [LP]Ori*[LP]

    [LP]Ori*[LP] Guest




    It is the Core :D
     
  4. #24
    Canadian Joe

    Canadian Joe Bacon strips LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    0



    Ah, well I'd love a Core :lol:

    Care to give me your motherboard and processor for, oh, let's say 200 bucks :lol:


    [/sarcasm]
     
  5. #25
    [LP]Ori*[LP]

    [LP]Ori*[LP] Guest




    Sure.>!! umm.. If I can get the new Sonic computer for under $500 then I'll sell my Core to you.. LoL :lol:

    What computer do you have now?
     
  6. #26
    Canadian Joe

    Canadian Joe Bacon strips LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    0



    Athlon 64 FX-57, 3GB PC-3200 DDR RAM, Radeon X1300 vid card...that's pretty much what's behind this beast.

    It's getting a new video card (and a motherboard with SLI support) in a few months though - $800 for the card alone.
     
  7. #27
    [LP]Ori*[LP]

    [LP]Ori*[LP] Guest




    Nice computer...:)
    If you are lucky then you could get the new video card in a special discount or something..
     
  8. #28
    Canadian Joe

    Canadian Joe Bacon strips LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    0



    I'm trying for exactly that :lol:

    And yeah, at one point this system was about the best thing money can buy. Damn technology advances :lol:

    ...ah well, I'll just pump money into it...or I would if flying paid more than it does now for someone just starting off :lol:
     
  9. #29
    [LP]Ori*[LP]

    [LP]Ori*[LP] Guest




    How cool..!!
    I'm gonna go off topic, but I wish I could fly a plane or something..:lol:
    I barely made my science project fly about 3 years ago..:(
     
  10. #30
    Canadian Joe

    Canadian Joe Bacon strips LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    0



    Off topic is always cool :lol:

    It's actually not that hard...kinda like driving.

    Hell, see for yourself...most flight schools do a 'discovery flight' type thing for about 40 bucks ;)
     
  11. #31
    [LP]Ori*[LP]

    [LP]Ori*[LP] Guest




    $40 is too cheap... :D
    I'll go for something higher!! and that's kinda a relief for me if flying is like driving^_^
     
  12. #32
    Canadian Joe

    Canadian Joe Bacon strips LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    0



    It's not too hard at all

    ;)















    (yes that's me)
     
  13. #33
    androidkaita

    androidkaita Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0



    I ended up buying a compaq presario. it was 400$, ad it has 512mb RAM, 2500GB HD, AMD Athlon 64, and nvidia geforce (I think).
     
  14. #34
    Neotriple

    Neotriple LPA VIP LPA VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0



    Haha, alright, here it is for you guys.

    1st off: I know you bought it, but as usual, I'm slow to the game.

    Intel is winning in the CPU business as now. Their core 2 duo's are REALLY good.

    AMD does have a quad core processor planned, with a different technology, but Intel already has a quad-core coming out, and so does AMD actually. They really aren't worth it right now, because of the fact that not many programs, if any at all support quad-core. Hell, barely any support dual-core.

    Really androidkaita, your computer wasn't that great of a buy, but oh well, its something. The Athlon's are all outdated, and 512 mb is really bare minimum now adays, most people are suggesting at LEAST 1 gig, and at least 1 gig is needed for vista, if you're planning to upgrade.
     
  15. #35
    Tomi

    Tomi   LPA Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,514
    Likes Received:
    0



    That's typo, right? o_O
     
  16. #36
    Canadian Joe

    Canadian Joe Bacon strips LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    0



    Hey, if I loaded up on 500GB hard drives, I could get mine up there :lol:

    4 expansion bays left ftw :lol:
     
  17. #37
    androidkaita

    androidkaita Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0



    lol sorry, I mean 200 GB harddrive, AMD Ahlon 64 3500+, Nvidia GEforce 6150 LE, 512 MB RAM
     
  18. #38
    Tomi

    Tomi   LPA Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,514
    Likes Received:
    0



    Considering how it sounds better than my computer (not sure about the gfx card, I'm unfamiliar with the nvidia model system), and my computer was $800 (2-3 years ago), not bad.
     
  19. #39
    User Name

    User Name Angry Marines. Always angry, all the time. >:C LPA Super Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,045
    Likes Received:
    0



    I think you can get 750GB drives. But honestly, I don't think I'd ever use all of the expansion bays. :lol: 500GB is good enough for me.
     
  20. #40
    Canadian Joe

    Canadian Joe Bacon strips LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    0



    Hah, with all the games I play (and addons I use), even 1TB starts to cut it :lol:
     

Share This Page