Dream Theater - The Astonishing

Discussion in 'Other Music' started by Gibs, Dec 3, 2015.

  1. #1

    Gibs The Prog Nerd Über Member

    Jul 7, 2012
    Likes Received:

    The Astonishing is the thirteenth studio album by Progressive Rock titans Dream Theater, due out January 29th of 2016. It is a double album that will tell the story of a Dystopian future where a faction called The Great Northern Empire have dominion. It follows a rebellion uprising from a faction named The Raven Skill Rebel Militia. This future seems to be a world where music is outlawed, similiar to the story told in Rush's 2112. The first single from the album is a track called "The Gift of Music," which can be found below.



    Act I:

    1. Descent of the NOMACS
    2. Dystopian Overture
    3. The Gift of Music
    4. The Answer
    5. A Better Life
    6. Lord Nafaryus
    7. A Savior in the Square
    8. When Your Time Has Come
    9. Act of Faythe
    10. Three Days
    11. The Hovering Sojourn
    12. Brother, Can You Hear Me?
    13. A Life Left Behind
    14. Ravenskill
    15. Chosen
    16. A Tempting Offer
    17. Digital Discord
    18. The X Aspect
    19. A New Beginning
    20. The Road to Revolution

    Act II:

    21. 2285 Entr'acte
    22. Moment of Betrayal
    23. Heaven's Cove
    24. Begin Again
    25. The Path That Divides
    26. Machine Chatter
    27. The Walking Shadow
    28. My Last Farewell
    29. Losing Faythe
    30. Whispers on the Wind
    31. Hymn of a Thousand Voices
    32. Our New World
    33. Power Down
    34. Astonishing


    I'm really pumped for this album. Dream Theater puts out their best work when working with a concept, which Metropolis Part 2 and Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence are clear evidence of. This is the tightest the band has sounded in over a decade. Though the track is a bit brief, it's a bit expected, since it's more of a transition / exposition song of a 34 track album. The only thing that I find myself disappointed in is that James LaBrie will voice all 8 characters on the album. I was hoping that they would bring in guest singers to perform the different parts to give the album diversity, but oh well. Oh, and the inclusion of an actual choir is awesome.​
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2015

Share This Page