No guitars in ATS? Really?

Discussion in 'Linkin Park Chat' started by Polychromatic, Sep 30, 2010.

Justin V.

Justin V. Professional Lurker

Exactly lol. Why do people make such a big deal about it? How many bands do LP fans listen to that solo compared to their whole music collection, that AREN'T metal or some offshoot of metal or hard rock. Some genres don't lend themselves well to solos. I would compare Linkin Park to Postal Service more than I would Tool. They're more about the overall atmosphere of the song rather than "bass play this, guitar play this, drums play this".

Exactly. No offense to anyone, but I'm a guitarist and it's annoying when budding or non-musicians act like a certain thing makes you a better _____ player. Blues or pentatonic scale? Overused by metal and not difficult to do. Brad took music theory like I did so I know he knows all about scales, inversions, modes etc. The only current guitarists that impresses me at all with solos is Jack White and Matt Bellamy. A7X is not unique. Metallica is not unique anymore. If you're listening to a song and it doesn't scream "SOLO" as part comes up, don't put a solo on it. And Linkin Park has a handful of songs where I get the feeling it needs a solo.

I do feel like Robot Boy could have had a crazy guitar solo still following in the mold of the synth solo.

Last edited: Oct 3, 2010
    Dean

Dean LPA Addict LPA Addict

Yeah. Whether or not they're actualy on that high a level, I'd honestly be surprised if Brad or any of the instrument players in the band are actually playing at full capacity that often in the band's albums, if ever. I think as much as anything it really is a case of them putting an emphasis on the song as opposed to the technical skill of an individual member, for better or for worse.