What is Joe Hahn using to do this?

Discussion in 'On Stage' started by FLV18, Aug 18, 2014.

FLV18

FLV18 Member

Im quite new to the world of sampling, and I'd just love to know how Joe is glitching/stuttering some of the samples during particular songs? It's all done in real time too, it doesn't cause the sample to stop playing and once it's done the sample just continues unaffected!

Some of the examples of what I mean include:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3u-RTkKKbiU - New Divide, around the 5:39 mark

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GlXk6ljW6cU - During the Wretches and Kings intro

If anyone can help me then that would be amazing! Mike has also done a demo using a keyboard where he's glitching samples in real time:

http://mikeshinoda.com/2010/05/25/live-glitch/

Thank you in advance!

minuteforce

minuteforce Danny's not here, Mrs. Torrance. LPA Team

Without watching the video(s), Hahn has buttons on either a nanoPAD or a MIDI Fighter - depending on the year, I guess - to trigger certain effects and, then, knobs/dials on either his mixer or another device to control parameters of those effects, all via MIDI.

What Shinoda uses in his Virus video is a Virus feature called "Atomizer" or something where the key-tracking (parameters changing based on what keys are pressed) determines how short the repeated audio slice is and the rate which it's repeated. Despite owning a Virus myself, I don't know much about it aside from the basics

Justin V.

Justin V. Professional Lurker

Musician here! There is commonly done with three effects. If you use Ableton Live you have Beat Repeat. You can also use BT's Stutter Edit. There's also Sugar Bytes Effectrix. There are more of course but those are by far the most popular.

They run a buffer in the background so that when the effect is done the "sample" picks up where it's left off.