Linkin Park's mixing and THE LOUDNESS WAR

Discussion in 'Linkin Park Chat' started by merrillmind, Apr 14, 2014.

Jesse

Jesse Out of the abyss. LPA Über VIP

Not Rubin's fault if bands make bad choices...

deadbysunrise

deadbysunrise Well-Known Member

Okay, I'm a musician, but the recording/mixing/mastering phase has mostly been a mystery to me. With that said, I've read a lot about the loudness war and have some general knowledge of it. There's one thing I don't understand, though. If it's so bad, if it decreases the sound quality, if some people even suffer from headaches because of it, then why do mixers keep doing it? I get it that louder songs used to be more successful 40 or 50 years ago, but what's the point of doing it today?

Arachnids

Arachnids The way out is through...

A few tracks on Living Things had the worst mixing. In My Remains for example. I never knew that the high pitched Synth (that comes in with the guitars) existed, until I heard the live version. Had I not heard the live version, I'd have never detected it. A Thousand Suns was mixed well, I think.

I'm not quite sure, but I think it's purposely done to make the song stand out, and grab the attention of the listener. Without the engineers turning the volume up, the track would probably sound weak, which wasn't the case a few decades ago.

Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
    lordblood

lordblood Radiance of a Thousand Suns