Page 1 of 394 1231151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 7876
  1. #1
    LPAssociation.com Administrator Derek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    39,350

    BURN IT DOWN Puzzle - Ongoing Progress (Full Puzzle Complete)

    Moments ago, http://linkinpark.com updated to redirect to http://burnitdown.linkinpark.com, revealing a puzzle for Linkin Park's upcoming single "Burn It Down". This means that the promotional campaign is upon us, and pretty soon we will be hearing previews of the song, which Mike Shinoda confirmed on Twitter is the purpose of these new puzzles.

    Join in the progress, share updates and post your thoughts on the puzzles on the
    LPA FORUMS

    FULL GRID PROGRESS



    As you can see, the puzzle has finally been completed, fully revealing the single art for Linkin Park's new single, "Burn It Down", however no snippets of the upcoming track have been released as of yet. See the individual puzzle pieces below!

    Living Things Theory

    LPA users have been hard at work on the code of the numbers since the Cypher 5. 4. announcement and the stand-out theory is the "Living Things Theory". Here's how it works. Coded into the page source of the Burn It Down puzzles are a series of 5 digit numbers followed by 4 digit numbers, these are added each time a puzzle piece is revealed on the site. By taking these numbers and subtracting all four digits of the second number with the last four digits of the first number we are only left with the first digit of the sequence. Subtract this from the result of the first calculation and we are left with a number between 1-26, which is then ultimately translated into the alphabet. Here is a grid of how Living Things was derived using this method. What this means is unknown but it's the only legible result so far. It's also worth noting that website http://livingthings.linkinpark.com is being prepped as a sub-domain which currently links to the http://burnitdown.linkinpark.com page. Keep your eyes on the LPA for any updates and discuss this theory on the LPA Forums.

    01. <!--53282 3265--> | (3282-3265)-5 =12 -- L
    02. <!--41602 1589--> | (1602-1589)-4 =09 -- I
    03. <!--31157 1132--> | (1157-1132)-3 =22 -- V
    04. <!--00000 0000--> | (0000-0000)-0 =00 -- _
    05. <!--79546 9530--> | (9546-9530)-7 =09 -- I
    06. <!--61752 1732--> | (1752-1732)-6 =14 -- N
    07. <!--53168 3156--> | (3168-3156)-5 =07 -- G
    08. <!--00000 0000--> | (0000-0000)-0 =00 -- _
    09. <!--44682 4658--> | (4682-4658)-4 =20 -- T
    10. <!--39376 9365--> | (9376-9365)-3 =08 -- H
    11. <!--84149 4132--> | (4149-4132)-8 =09 -- I
    12. <!--00000 0000--> | (0000-0000)-0 =00 -- _
    13. <!--72029 2008--> | (2029-2008)-7 =14 -- N
    14. <!--65276 5263--> | (5276-5263)-6 =07 -- G
    15. <!--00000 0000--> | (0000-0000)-0 =00 -- _
    16. <!--58780 8756--> | (8780-8756)-5 =19 -- S

    Puzzle Progress 16

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 7:30AM PST / 10:30AM EST / 3:30PM GMT



    Puzzle Progress 15

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 7:30AM PST / 10:30AM EST / 3:30PM GMT

    Both puzzle pieces 15 and 16 were released simultaneously after the site was offline for a short period of time.

    Puzzle Progress 14

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 10:30PM PST / 1:30AM EST / 6:30AM GMT



    The 14th quadrant is revealed with the 14th puzzle, continuing the bottom row of the Burn It Down artwork.

    Puzzle Progress 13

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 1:30PM PST / 4:30PM EST / 9:30PM GMT



    The 13th piece reveals the bottom right corner to the Burn It Down artwork.

    Puzzle Progress 12

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 6:00PM PST / 9:00PM EST / 2:00AM GMT




    A piece of the white area has been revealed.

    Puzzle Progress 11

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 7:00AM PST / 10:00AM EST / 3:00PM GMT



    Puzzle piece 11 reveals the lower left quadrant of the Burn It Down cover art.

    Puzzle Progress 10

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 10:30PM PST / 1:30 EST / 6:30AM GMT



    The top row is now complete which clearly shows the Linkin Park typeface.

    Puzzle Progress 9

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 10:00AM PST / 01:00PM EST / 06:00PM GMT



    The new puzzle piece reveals another remaining piece of the Linkin Park logo.

    Puzzle Progress 8

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 12:00AM PST / 03:00AM EST / 08:00AM GMT



    This is from the bottom section of the image. The third quadrant across features the "Burn It Down" typeface indicating this will be the single cover art.

    Puzzle Progress 7

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 08:00PM PST / 11:00PM EST / 04:00AM GMT




    Puzzle 7 reveals the other side of Chester's face.

    Puzzle Progress 6

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 10:30AM PDT/ 01:300PM EST/ 06:30PM GMT



    Puzzle piece 6 reveals the top right section of the image, continuing the Linkin Park font placed across the top of the image.

    Puzzle Progress 5



    Another piece of Chester's shoulder has been unveiled, however still no sign of snippets.

    Puzzle Progress 4


    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 11:30AM PDT / 2:30AM EST 7:30AM GMT



    The fourth piece shows a little of the Linkin Park font as the image continues to develop.

    Puzzle Progress 3

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 1:00PM PDT / 4:00PM EST / 9:00PM GMT

    After the third puzzle, there is still no audio of the song available. It looks like it'll be a while longer before we hear a snippet of the song. Please be sure to keep checking this post for more updates!



    Puzzle Progress 2

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 2:30AM PDT / 5:30AM EST / 10:30AM GMT

    This puzzle is similar to the last in that you are required to move the sqaures to reveal the image. Revealing the image shows a continuation of the art from the previous puzzle, adding to the charred silhouette of Chester to form part of the chest. See it below.



    Puzzle Progress 1

    Within minutes LPA user edflinkinp solved the puzzle. Here is what you see when it is finished:




    The image when solved appears as a charred silhouette of Chester's face. In addition, upon zooming out in the flash it appears there are spaces for 16 quadrants. More to come!

    How The Burn It Down Puzzles Work

    The object of the puzzles is to arrange the blocks in the correct order so that the section of that image is decipherable in the context of the artwork. There are 16 puzzles in total on the grid which are being unveiled one at a time, solving the current puzzle will add a piece of the Burn It Down artwork to the grid. If you are having trouble solving these puzzles and want to do it the intended way, LPA member ZoeLinkingal wrote a handy guide to solving puzzles of this type. You can view that here.

    If You've Missed Some Puzzles

    Have you found yourself missing some of the puzzles due to time zone conflicts and being away from the computer and want to know if you can go back to a puzzle you didn't get a chance to complete? Unfortunately you can't go back and solve puzzles you have missed. You only have the opportunity to solve one puzzle at a time which will be the current puzzle highlighted in white on the grid. All the other puzzles will be greyed out, whether they've been completed or not, and can't be accessed again. It remains to be seen if the amount of puzzles you have completed will have any effect on the completion of the Burn It Down artwork.

    More About The Burn It Down Puzzle Page

    Clicking on the circular LP logo in the lower left hand corner brings up a terminal. Below is an image of the input screen you are greeted with once you have clicked the LP logo.


    The only known command to do anything in the terminal is "SUDO SOLVE()". This will bring up the option to enter a password. Viewing the page source and searching for "SUDO" reveals the password to "insta-solve" the puzzle, although dependant on your browser, this may be temperamental and not guaranteed to work. Check below for the "puzzle cheat".

    Instant Puzzle Solving Cheat

    For the impatient, a puzzle cheat has been discovered. Right click, view page source of the puzzle, do CTRL+F and search "SUDO". Find the number then type SUDO SOLVE() in the terminal. Use number as password. As of the third puzzle, this method has been prevented, but only sometimes. Occasionally you'll find this method does still work. If you try to do it now and you are greeted with the password "OOPS" upon entering the "SUDO SOLVE()" text, chances are you were greeted with a pop-up window and RickRoll'd. Here's how to get around that.

    Instant Puzzle Solving Cheat Update

    Right click on one of the completed images, click Inspect Element. At this point you can search "square" to bring up the section you'll need to edit. You can view the section you need to edit here. Change where it says class="square complete" to class="square" on 2 of the div elements that have "complete" in the class. Then enter the password using the method explained above and it'll solve the puzzle.Thanks to LPA user GoldFire for the tip.

    This has been confirmed to work in Chrome, Safari and Firefox. It's uncertain if using this "cheat" will have an effect on the outcome or not.

    Linkin Park 5. 4. Cipher Tweet
    During Puzzle 8 & 9, Linkin Park threw a spanner in the works, indicating there is more to the Burn It Down puzzle page than fans have discovered so far. Linkin Park Tweeted the following:



    "There's more than meets the eye. 5. 4. Cipher. It's there. http://burnitdown.linkinpark.com"

    This has been later followed up with replies from the creator's of the Burn It down puzzles, who insist we "focus on the numbers".



    It remains uncertain which numbers they are referring to, but the LPA community think these may be the most likely. A sequence of 5 - 4 number patterns in relation to each puzzle hidden in the code. Just how exactly is still being worked on, along with other possibilities. Help us find these "easter eggs" now and join in on the LPA Forums!

    Linkin Park STL22 Tweet

    In their latest tweet, Linkin Park have revealed that LPA member STL22 is the closest to solving the puzzle itself. Here is a summary post of all of STL22's theories on how to solve.



    Eyes & Ears Entertainment and Uprising Creative, Creators of Linkin Park Puzzles

    LPA member Nameless discovered that Eyes & Ears Entertainment have teamed with Uprising Creative to create this Burn It Down puzzle and most likely are working on any upcoming projects in the build to Linkin Park's next album. Read what they have to say about this particular Burn It Down puzzle below and follow them through social media.


    Remember, join other fans and share your progress on the LPA Forums!
    The LPA is self funded. We support our hosting costs out of pocket and through ads, and although we do not expect our users to donate...any monetary contribution helps.
    To donate towards hosting costs and help support the site, please click on the Donate button below.



    Check Out AltWire - My Latest Project

  2. #2
    The One They Call Elaine. Elaine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,301
    Juuust as I tweet to Mike asking why no snippets.

  3. #3
    Mind Your Manners. Luke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    LANDAN!!!
    Posts
    15,220
    Someone solve it! I can't be bothered.

  4. #4
    It's Like I'm Paranoid... skyzlmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    227
    It's part of a bigger puzzle if you click around the area.

    Also click on the LP logo on the bottom left...

    TERMINAL

    BURN_IT_DOWN >
    Collector of all things MS and his art. Proud to be on b2b LPTVs (GLXS Dies and MSxDCxSURU)

  5. #5
    I Can Count To Potato Ace_Linkin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    102
    Site crashes in 3....2....1....
    sign my life away

  6. #6
    LPAssociation.com Administrator Derek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    39,350
    The site actually shouldn't crash now. We made some serious tweaks today. So tell everyone to get their asses on LPA, and get this bitch solved.

  7. #7
    This goes out to everybody still hatin' Bennington_Hahn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Upminster, Havering, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,224
    Hell yeah, tho I wish my phone could display the web page correctly >_>

  8. #8
    bittersweet and' cross that horizon cradle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Trinidad,US,Canada.
    Posts
    1,407


    This shows up in the middle :s.

  9. #9
    Proud Venezuelan LP fan. With adorable feet. Andreina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    4,533
    Almost got it, only need to sort out the grey stripes...

  10. #10
    LPA team
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    6,360
    I'm not at home right now but I'm doing what I can. Hurry up, let's solve this LPAers!

  11. #11
    because the internet hawk.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7,523
    Could this be the single cover? Or the equivalent of the "faces" shots that we got with A Thousand Suns?

    Come back twice a day to unlock a new quadrant.

  12. #12
    Mind Your Manners. Luke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    LANDAN!!!
    Posts
    15,220
    An album cover perhaps???

    Sort of looks like Chester...

  13. #13

    WHOA

    Chester's face?

  14. #14
    It's Like I'm Paranoid...
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    243
    NICE

  15. #15
    Ntr/Mssion
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    69
    looks like the single cover, notice what looks like burning or ashes on his face. and btw is the site still wrking for u guys?

  16. #16
    It's Like I'm Paranoid... skyzlmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    227
    if you zoom your screen out there are actually spaces for 16 puzzles... This is going to be a long week

  17. #17
    LPAssociation.com Administrator Derek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    39,350
    Has anyone actually solved this? Does any music play when it's done?

  18. #18
    because the internet hawk.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7,523
    ANNNNNNNNNNNND IT'S DOWWWWWWWWWWWWWN

    And it's back!

  19. #19
    Proud Venezuelan LP fan. With adorable feet. Andreina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    4,533
    DONE IT DONE IT!!!I DID IT!!!

  20. #20
    It's Like I'm Paranoid... skyzlmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    227
    woah badass! what happens now?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •