Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Linkin Park: "Our Next Album Will Polarize People"

Chester Bennington recently spoke to Kerrang! about the work they're putting into their next studio album amongst other things. Below are some excerpts from NME who have featured the article and you can also check out the full interview in our scans below!

Linkin Park have started work on the follow-up to 2010's 'A Thousand Suns' and have said they believe their fifth studio album will 'polarize' people.

Speaking to Kerrang!, singer Chester Bennington has also said the band address a plethora of "serious issues" in their new songs.
    He said: "We've been working on a new record for the past two months. The music is great and we're well ahead of where we're expecting to be. There aren't a whole lot of noises going on, but there are a lot of good songs. It will probably get a very polarized reaction. Which pleases me. As an artist, I want a reaction."

The singer added that the band would be looking to tackle controversial topics on their new album, rather than the more personal subjects of their older material.
    Bennington added: "We've learned how to write serious songs and serious lyrics. We've learned how to deal with politics, faith and other things. Those are things that can get preachy really quickly, which we don't want to do. So you need to learn to talk to people and not at people."

Check out the full interview from Kerrang! Magazine in the LPA Gallery!

Source: Kerrang! | NME via Shadey

"There aren't a whole lot of noises going on, but there are a lot of good songs."

This piqued my interest. Does he mean the songs they've been making have been quieter or use barer instrumentalization or just that they're more electronic-based like a lot of ATS? Maybe it just means something entirely different like the band not working together on the songs all at once.

Also, LPA should put up their page for LP5.

head full of bubblegum Amberiel's Avatar