Guitar vs. Bass

Discussion in 'Other Music' started by Ambient, Dec 13, 2004.

Ambient

Ambient Member

Hey everyone, hows it going? I've played guitar four about five years now and starting to become interested in learning the bass and maybe switch to it. I was wondering if anyone on the message board whos played both could tell me which they enjoyed the most and continue to play. Thanks.

Adam

Adam !!!! LPA Super Member

I've been playing guitar for about 8 months but I've always wanted to play bass.

The Doctor

The Doctor I wear a fez now. Fez's are cool. LPA Super Member

Ive been playing guitar for about 5 years and I play a little bass.

Derek

Derek LPAssociation.com Administrator LPA Administrator

I've played bass for 3 to 4 years and its certainly fun to play. But I cant really say which one is more fun because the sounds are so different.

With guitar you can get those crunching sounding guitars you always hear from brad, but with bass you get this low pitched rumble that sounds really great. However; most of the time from what I see, the bass in Linkin Park songs are often more complex than the guitar. Take Forgotten for example, really good bassline.

Best thing to do is, to find someone who has a bass, play the bass and guitar riffs from your favorite Linkin Park song, and decide which one you like better.

Methybrea

Methybrea Well-Known Member

I play mainly bass, although I do play a bit of guitar, and personally I think it relies on what kind of role you want to take in the music, and what you like.

Although I do like lead parts, I like to be a subtle role. The bass is kinda in the background, but it is essential in most songs.