PDA

View Full Version : Formatting



Will
10-26-2002, 01:22 AM
I'll be formatting my hard-drive for the next few days, so if you guys don't see me on IRC or here on the forums - don't worry. I'll still be here. I'll just be out of comission for a few days.

Peace.

.: Akuma-sama :joe:

White Pony(turntables)
10-26-2002, 01:23 AM
(w00t) :'( :shifty: :shifty: :shifty:

Amy
10-26-2002, 01:31 AM
fine leave us for acouple of days :( :( :lol:

Will
10-26-2002, 01:41 AM
That's exactly what I'm doing.

:shifty:

.: Akuma :joe:

Will
10-26-2002, 03:01 AM
Hey, look at that. I'm done already. All I have to do now is install about 12 programs and I'm set to go. I like speed. I have sites coming up in less than a second (before it took at least three) and programs are loading like there's no tomorrow.

:lol:

.: Akuma-sama :joe:

Todd
10-26-2002, 03:40 AM
Originally posted by Akuma-sama@Oct 25 2002, 10:01 PM
Hey, look at that. I'm done already. All I have to do now is install about 12 programs and I'm set to go. I like speed. I have sites coming up in less than a second (before it took at least three) and programs are loading like there's no tomorrow.

:lol:

.: Akuma-sama :joe:
enjoy it while it lasts, Windows will screw up in the next few days

Will
10-26-2002, 03:44 AM
Nah, I've done this before. The only problems I've ever had is when I play games that aren't compatible and they freeze. Other than that Windows XP works like a dream.

.: Akuma-sama :joe:

Will
10-26-2002, 05:37 AM
Okay, after about 45 minutes of playing with my firewall it finally let me back online. Damn firewalls. Why do they have to be so hard to configure?

.: Akuma-sama :joe:

Todd
10-26-2002, 06:18 AM
hmm I dunno why.....

I've had a hardware router/firewall for quite some time now so I havent messed with any software ones recentley

MoJo
10-26-2002, 08:34 AM
it takes me 2 hours to format and have everything installed :)

Oblong_Cheese
10-26-2002, 08:40 AM
Originally posted by Akuma-sama@Oct 26 2002, 05:37 AM
Why do they have to be so hard to configure?
n00b!

</immaturity>

What kind of firewall? Software I&#39;m guessing. Something like Zone Alarm, or more &#39;professional&#39; software?

MoJo
10-26-2002, 08:49 AM
if u were knowledged in the area of &#39;hacking&#39; as i sort of am you would realise that firewalls actually don&#39;t work. If you aren&#39;t using your internet a &#39;hacker&#39; can potentially get in through port 80 and u have no way of stopping it.
Secondly &#39;hackers&#39; need something to connect to on your computer before they can &#39;hack&#39; anything. These are usually trojans and only stupid people would download a trojan or except one from someone.

I don&#39;t use a firewall on my computer as i don&#39;t need to. I&#39;m in a LAN which gives me a LAN IP address (192.168.0.4) there is no way you&#39;s could ping/conenct to it.
I could go into great detail and prove that &#39;hackers&#39; are non existant when actually people getting&#39; hacked&#39; is there own fault not the person &#39;hacking&#39; you.
to conclude this extreamly large post whcih i have nfi why i&#39;m posting it as you won&#39;t understand.
FIREWALLS DO JACK
:)

Amy
10-26-2002, 11:09 AM
what is formatting? :P :blink: (im dumb :P )

Will
10-26-2002, 02:09 PM
Originally posted by Oblong_Cheese+Oct 26 2002, 04:40 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Oblong_Cheese @ Oct 26 2002, 04:40 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteBegin--Akuma-sama@Oct 26 2002, 05:37 AM
Why do they have to be so hard to configure?
n00b&#33;

</immaturity>

What kind of firewall? Software I&#39;m guessing. Something like Zone Alarm, or more &#39;professional&#39; software?[/b][/quote]
Heh, I&#39;m hardly a newbie.

It&#39;s crappy McAfee Firewall, but the problem is that if I don&#39;t put checks in the checkboxes that are supposed to be checked, my connection gets screwed.

Heh, and it works just fine, too. I&#39;ve had people ECHO bomb me and I didn&#39;t even start lagging a bit.

.: Akuma-sama :joe:

Nikki
10-26-2002, 04:19 PM
formatting=Uninstalling virtually everything then reinstalling it all and getting everything optimised and working well and stuff....try it...it takes time but it&#39;s worth it

Will
10-26-2002, 08:28 PM
Originally posted by MoJo@Oct 26 2002, 04:49 AM
if u were knowledged in the area of &#39;hacking&#39; as i sort of am you would realise that firewalls actually don&#39;t work. If you aren&#39;t using your internet a &#39;hacker&#39; can potentially get in through port 80 and u have no way of stopping it.
Secondly &#39;hackers&#39; need something to connect to on your computer before they can &#39;hack&#39; anything. These are usually trojans and only stupid people would download a trojan or except one from someone.

I don&#39;t use a firewall on my computer as i don&#39;t need to. I&#39;m in a LAN which gives me a LAN IP address (192.168.0.4) there is no way you&#39;s could ping/conenct to it.
I could go into great detail and prove that &#39;hackers&#39; are non existant when actually people getting&#39; hacked&#39; is there own fault not the person &#39;hacking&#39; you.
to conclude this extreamly large post whcih i have nfi why i&#39;m posting it as you won&#39;t understand.
FIREWALLS DO JACK
:)
Is that why my firewall protects me?

:rolleyes:

.: Akuma-sama :joe:

MoJo
10-27-2002, 12:10 AM
protects you from what? windows?

Will
10-27-2002, 12:18 AM
It blocks anything sent to my computer that I don&#39;t want (i.e. UDP, ICMP Echo PING, etc).

.: Akuma-sama :joe:

MoJo
10-27-2002, 12:24 AM
lol big woop, what connection you on?

Will
10-27-2002, 12:25 AM
Broadband.

And before you give me that "no-one can hurt you" crap, they can. I was knocked off by an ISDN user... heh, don&#39;t ask.

.: Akuma-sama :joe:

MoJo
10-27-2002, 12:26 AM
lol whatever.

Will
10-27-2002, 12:27 AM
Why don&#39;t you hack me then if you&#39;re so smart.

.: Akuma-sama :joe:

MoJo
10-27-2002, 12:30 AM
if had read my bigger post before u would of noticed me say there is no such thing as &#39;hacking&#39; and i have stopped that now as i got in trouble by my ISP last time and they threatend me with legal action and the penalties from phreaking (&#39;hacking&#39;) are pretty high. And you would have to have server of some sort running on your computer before i could &#39;hack&#39; you.



Last edited by MoJo at Oct 27 2002, 10:33 AM

Will
10-27-2002, 12:31 AM
Not really. All you&#39;d have to do is throw a trojan at me.

And by the way, it&#39;s phreaking. And phreaking is different from hacking. Genius.

.: Akuma-sama :joe:

MoJo
10-27-2002, 12:33 AM
same concept. i don&#39;t think we should continue this argument on the forums either :P.

A Trojan is a server.

Will
10-27-2002, 12:33 AM
:lol:

Exactly, if you throw a trojan at me there&#39;d be a server on my computer for you to "hack" me from. LOL... :lol:

.: Akuma-sama :joe: