BURN IT DOWN Puzzle - Ongoing Progress (Full Puzzle Complete)

Discussion in 'News' started by Derek, Apr 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Derek

    Derek LPAssociation.com Administrator LPA Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,999
    Likes Received:
    0
    Moments ago, http://linkinpark.com updated to redirect to http://burnitdown.linkinpark.com, revealing a puzzle for Linkin Park's upcoming single "Burn It Down". This means that the promotional campaign is upon us, and pretty soon we will be hearing previews of the song, which Mike Shinoda confirmed on Twitter is the purpose of these new puzzles.

    Join in the progress, share updates and post your thoughts on the puzzles on the
    LPA FORUMS

    FULL GRID PROGRESS

    [​IMG]

    As you can see, the puzzle has finally been completed, fully revealing the single art for Linkin Park's new single, "Burn It Down", however no snippets of the upcoming track have been released as of yet. See the individual puzzle pieces below!

    Living Things Theory

    LPA users have been hard at work on the code of the numbers since the Cypher 5. 4. announcement and the stand-out theory is the "Living Things Theory". Here's how it works. Coded into the page source of the Burn It Down puzzles are a series of 5 digit numbers followed by 4 digit numbers, these are added each time a puzzle piece is revealed on the site. By taking these numbers and subtracting all four digits of the second number with the last four digits of the first number we are only left with the first digit of the sequence. Subtract this from the result of the first calculation and we are left with a number between 1-26, which is then ultimately translated into the alphabet. Here is a grid of how Living Things was derived using this method. What this means is unknown but it's the only legible result so far. It's also worth noting that website http://livingthings.linkinpark.com is being prepped as a sub-domain which currently links to the http://burnitdown.linkinpark.com page. Keep your eyes on the LPA for any updates and discuss this theory on the LPA Forums.​

    01. <!--53282 3265--> | (3282-3265)-5 =12 -- L
    02. <!--41602 1589--> | (1602-1589)-4 =09 -- I
    03. <!--31157 1132--> | (1157-1132)-3 =22 -- V
    04. <!--00000 0000--> | (0000-0000)-0 =00 -- _
    05. <!--79546 9530--> | (9546-9530)-7 =09 -- I
    06. <!--61752 1732--> | (1752-1732)-6 =14 -- N
    07. <!--53168 3156--> | (3168-3156)-5 =07 -- G
    08. <!--00000 0000--> | (0000-0000)-0 =00 -- _
    09. <!--44682 4658--> | (4682-4658)-4 =20 -- T
    10. <!--39376 9365--> | (9376-9365)-3 =08 -- H
    11. <!--84149 4132--> | (4149-4132)-8 =09 -- I
    12. <!--00000 0000--> | (0000-0000)-0 =00 -- _
    13. <!--72029 2008--> | (2029-2008)-7 =14 -- N
    14. <!--65276 5263--> | (5276-5263)-6 =07 -- G
    15. <!--00000 0000--> | (0000-0000)-0 =00 -- _
    16. <!--58780 8756--> | (8780-8756)-5 =19 -- S

    Puzzle Progress 16

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 7:30AM PST / 10:30AM EST / 3:30PM GMT

    [​IMG]

    Puzzle Progress 15

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 7:30AM PST / 10:30AM EST / 3:30PM GMT

    Both puzzle pieces 15 and 16 were released simultaneously after the site was offline for a short period of time.

    Puzzle Progress 14

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 10:30PM PST / 1:30AM EST / 6:30AM GMT

    [​IMG]

    The 14th quadrant is revealed with the 14th puzzle, continuing the bottom row of the Burn It Down artwork.

    Puzzle Progress 13

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 1:30PM PST / 4:30PM EST / 9:30PM GMT

    [​IMG]

    The 13th piece reveals the bottom right corner to the Burn It Down artwork.

    Puzzle Progress 12

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 6:00PM PST / 9:00PM EST / 2:00AM GMT


    [​IMG]

    A piece of the white area has been revealed.

    Puzzle Progress 11

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 7:00AM PST / 10:00AM EST / 3:00PM GMT

    [​IMG]

    Puzzle piece 11 reveals the lower left quadrant of the Burn It Down cover art.

    Puzzle Progress 10

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 10:30PM PST / 1:30 EST / 6:30AM GMT

    [​IMG]

    The top row is now complete which clearly shows the Linkin Park typeface.

    Puzzle Progress 9

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 10:00AM PST / 01:00PM EST / 06:00PM GMT

    [​IMG]

    The new puzzle piece reveals another remaining piece of the Linkin Park logo.

    Puzzle Progress 8

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 12:00AM PST / 03:00AM EST / 08:00AM GMT

    [​IMG]

    This is from the bottom section of the image. The third quadrant across features the "Burn It Down" typeface indicating this will be the single cover art.

    Puzzle Progress 7

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 08:00PM PST / 11:00PM EST / 04:00AM GMT

    [​IMG]


    Puzzle 7 reveals the other side of Chester's face.​

    Puzzle Progress 6

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 10:30AM PDT/ 01:300PM EST/ 06:30PM GMT

    [​IMG]

    Puzzle piece 6 reveals the top right section of the image, continuing the Linkin Park font placed across the top of the image.

    Puzzle Progress 5

    [​IMG]

    Another piece of Chester's shoulder has been unveiled, however still no sign of snippets.

    Puzzle Progress 4


    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 11:30AM PDT / 2:30AM EST 7:30AM GMT

    [​IMG]

    The fourth piece shows a little of the Linkin Park font as the image continues to develop.

    Puzzle Progress 3

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 1:00PM PDT / 4:00PM EST / 9:00PM GMT

    After the third puzzle, there is still no audio of the song available. It looks like it'll be a while longer before we hear a snippet of the song. Please be sure to keep checking this post for more updates!

    [​IMG]

    Puzzle Progress 2

    NEW GRID ART POSTED AT 2:30AM PDT / 5:30AM EST / 10:30AM GMT

    This puzzle is similar to the last in that you are required to move the sqaures to reveal the image. Revealing the image shows a continuation of the art from the previous puzzle, adding to the charred silhouette of Chester to form part of the chest. See it below.

    [​IMG]

    Puzzle Progress 1

    Within minutes LPA user edflinkinp solved the puzzle. Here is what you see when it is finished:

    [​IMG]


    The image when solved appears as a charred silhouette of Chester's face. In addition, upon zooming out in the flash it appears there are spaces for 16 quadrants. More to come!

    How The Burn It Down Puzzles Work

    The object of the puzzles is to arrange the blocks in the correct order so that the section of that image is decipherable in the context of the artwork. There are 16 puzzles in total on the grid which are being unveiled one at a time, solving the current puzzle will add a piece of the Burn It Down artwork to the grid. If you are having trouble solving these puzzles and want to do it the intended way, LPA member ZoeLinkingal wrote a handy guide to solving puzzles of this type. You can view that here.

    If You've Missed Some Puzzles

    Have you found yourself missing some of the puzzles due to time zone conflicts and being away from the computer and want to know if you can go back to a puzzle you didn't get a chance to complete? Unfortunately you can't go back and solve puzzles you have missed. You only have the opportunity to solve one puzzle at a time which will be the current puzzle highlighted in white on the grid. All the other puzzles will be greyed out, whether they've been completed or not, and can't be accessed again. It remains to be seen if the amount of puzzles you have completed will have any effect on the completion of the Burn It Down artwork.​

    More About The Burn It Down Puzzle Page

    Clicking on the circular LP logo in the lower left hand corner brings up a terminal. Below is an image of the input screen you are greeted with once you have clicked the LP logo.

    [​IMG]

    The only known command to do anything in the terminal is "SUDO SOLVE()". This will bring up the option to enter a password. Viewing the page source and searching for "SUDO" reveals the password to "insta-solve" the puzzle, although dependant on your browser, this may be temperamental and not guaranteed to work. Check below for the "puzzle cheat".

    Instant Puzzle Solving Cheat

    For the impatient, a puzzle cheat has been discovered. Right click, view page source of the puzzle, do CTRL+F and search "SUDO". Find the number then type SUDO SOLVE() in the terminal. Use number as password. As of the third puzzle, this method has been prevented, but only sometimes. Occasionally you'll find this method does still work. If you try to do it now and you are greeted with the password "OOPS" upon entering the "SUDO SOLVE()" text, chances are you were greeted with a pop-up window and RickRoll'd. Here's how to get around that.

    Instant Puzzle Solving Cheat Update

    Right click on one of the completed images, click Inspect Element. At this point you can search "square" to bring up the section you'll need to edit. You can view the section you need to edit here. Change where it says class="square complete" to class="square" on 2 of the div elements that have "complete" in the class. Then enter the password using the method explained above and it'll solve the puzzle.Thanks to LPA user GoldFire for the tip.

    This has been confirmed to work in Chrome, Safari and Firefox. It's uncertain if using this "cheat" will have an effect on the outcome or not.

    Linkin Park 5. 4. Cipher Tweet
    During Puzzle 8 & 9, Linkin Park threw a spanner in the works, indicating there is more to the Burn It Down puzzle page than fans have discovered so far. Linkin Park Tweeted the following:

    [​IMG]

    "There's more than meets the eye. 5. 4. Cipher. It's there. http://burnitdown.linkinpark.com"

    This has been later followed up with replies from the creator's of the Burn It down puzzles, who insist we "focus on the numbers".

    [​IMG]

    It remains uncertain which numbers they are referring to, but the LPA community think these may be the most likely. A sequence of 5 - 4 number patterns in relation to each puzzle hidden in the code. Just how exactly is still being worked on, along with other possibilities. Help us find these "easter eggs" now and join in on the LPA Forums!

    Linkin Park STL22 Tweet

    In their latest tweet, Linkin Park have revealed that LPA member STL22 is the closest to solving the puzzle itself. Here is a summary post of all of STL22's theories on how to solve. ​



    Eyes & Ears Entertainment and Uprising Creative, Creators of Linkin Park Puzzles

    LPA member Nameless discovered that Eyes & Ears Entertainment have teamed with Uprising Creative to create this Burn It Down puzzle and most likely are working on any upcoming projects in the build to Linkin Park's next album. Read what they have to say about this particular Burn It Down puzzle below and follow them through social media.​


    Remember, join other fans and share your progress on the LPA Forums!
     
  2. Elaine

    Elaine The One They Call Elaine. LPA VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Juuust as I tweet to Mike asking why no snippets. :awesome:
     
  3. Luke

    Luke Mind Your Manners. LPA Addicted VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    15,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone solve it! I can't be bothered. :lol:
     
  4. skyzlmt

    skyzlmt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's part of a bigger puzzle if you click around the area.

    Also click on the LP logo on the bottom left...

    TERMINAL

    BURN_IT_DOWN >
     
  5. Ace_Linkin

    Ace_Linkin I Can Count To Potato

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Site crashes in 3....2....1....
     
  6. Derek

    Derek LPAssociation.com Administrator LPA Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,999
    Likes Received:
    0
    The site actually shouldn't crash now. We made some serious tweaks today. So tell everyone to get their asses on LPA, and get this bitch solved.
     
  7. Bennington_Hahn

    Bennington_Hahn This goes out to everybody still hatin' LPA VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hell yeah, tho I wish my phone could display the web page correctly >_>
     
  8. cradle

    cradle bittersweet and' cross that horizon LPA VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    This shows up in the middle :s.
     
  9. Andreina

    Andreina Proud Venezuelan LP fan. With adorable feet. LPA Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Almost got it, only need to sort out the grey stripes...[​IMG]
     
  10. Benjamin

    Benjamin LPA team LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not at home right now but I'm doing what I can. Hurry up, let's solve this LPAers!
     
  11. hawk

    hawk because the internet LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could this be the single cover? Or the equivalent of the "faces" shots that we got with A Thousand Suns?

    Come back twice a day to unlock a new quadrant.
     
  12. Luke

    Luke Mind Your Manners. LPA Addicted VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    15,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    An album cover perhaps???

    Sort of looks like Chester...
     
  13. lpfan93

    lpfan93 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    WHOA

    Chester's face?
     
  14. RoyHahn

    RoyHahn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. AnTeC

    AnTeC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    looks like the single cover, notice what looks like burning or ashes on his face. and btw is the site still wrking for u guys?
     
  16. skyzlmt

    skyzlmt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you zoom your screen out there are actually spaces for 16 puzzles... This is going to be a long week
     
  17. Derek

    Derek LPAssociation.com Administrator LPA Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,999
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone actually solved this? Does any music play when it's done?
     
  18. hawk

    hawk because the internet LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,678
    Likes Received:
    0
    ANNNNNNNNNNNND IT'S DOWWWWWWWWWWWWWN

    And it's back!
     
  19. Andreina

    Andreina Proud Venezuelan LP fan. With adorable feet. LPA Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    DONE IT DONE IT!!![​IMG]I DID IT!!!
     
  20. skyzlmt

    skyzlmt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    woah badass! what happens now?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page